Unashamed

One year.

My blog has been up for one year today.

It’s been an interesting journey so far….putting feet and wings to the dream of a little girl who wanted to write.

It’s not a hugely popular blog.  People aren’t flocking to it daily. But it has been immensely helpful for me to put aside some fear and boldly put out there words that reflect my thoughts….my vulnerabilities….my journey.

I’ve found that most people have very similar, yet very unique journeys.

We all may go through different things…have different experiences…different circumstances.

But at the end of the day, we are all just trying to find truth and love.

It’s how we were created.

And I’ve learned there are some common themes that run through our lives which seek to keep us from finding that truth and love.

One in particular is shame.

Too many of us carry shame around, we own it, we wear it, or we try to hide it.  But it’s there.  And it affects every part of who we are….of who we believe we are.

I’ve lived a ‘colorful’ life.  I’ve done things that have made others blush…or get indignant….

Aren’t you ashamed?

I used to be.

I used to be embarrassed and ashamed.  Bound by the lies of shame.

Look, I’m not proud of everything I’ve done.

But I’m not ashamed.

Grace says I’m clean. Who am I to say dirty?

Do I have regrets?

Precious few.

I once allowed regrets to grip me—to stall me.  But no more.

Every thing that I’ve been through has helped mold me into the woman I am today.

And I like her.

Besides, there’s nothing I’ve done that my God can’t redeem!

 

Leave a Reply

